Because all thoughts are fleeting, and I truly am bird-brained.

A thought I should share, before it fades.

I was sitting on the side porch some day in August, hands clasped in front of me. A nuthatch swooped out of a nearby spruce and came to perch on my finger. As hard as it has been most of the time, I was overjoyed in that moment, and for such an otherwise insignificant reason.

I wondered then, as I wonder now, will that be the last time such a thing occurs for me in my life? I hope not, but it’s certainly possible, if not probable.

As I recall that moment I remember helping a nuthatch who had been caught inside a bird feeder out and back onto his way. If that was his or nature’s reward I can consider it paid in full.

I wanted to share, because I don’t want to forget.

Leave a comment